2019 LEGISLATIVE ISSUES AND AGENDA

Maddy Vonhoff, Lobby Team Chair
mvonhoff@lwvwa.org • (360) 713-1997


DEMOCRACY
Elections, Campaign Finance, & Government Ethics— Improve access to the ballot, reduce the influence of special interest money, and increase transparency in government and politics.
Kathy Sakahara, ksakahara@lwvwa.org, (206) 261-7797
Issue Paper | Legislative Updates

Election Methods— Promote the adoption and implementation of election methods that maximize representation and citizen participation.
Barbra Chevalier, barbra.n.chevalier@gmail.com, (425) 445-2281
Issue Paper | Legislative Updates

Election Security— Promote security, accuracy, auditability, and transparency in elections.
Kirstin Mueller, kmueller@lwvwa.org
Issue Paper

Census & Redistricting— Ensure the redistricting process is accessible and transparent with timeframes that enable input and strengthen results and support an accurate and complete 2020 Census.
Alison McCaffree, alison.mccaffree@stanfordalumni.org, (253) 720-6813
Issue Paper

SOCIAL POLICIES 
Economic & Social Justice— Ensure equality of opportunity, prevent and reduce poverty and promote fair policies for all struggling to realize their human potential.
Amy Davis, adavis@lwvwa.org, (360) 427-1956
Issue Paper

Criminal Justice— Eradicate racial bias from the criminal justice system to uphold principles of fairness and due process of law.
Heather Kelly, hkelly@lwvwa.org
Issue Paper— Coming Soon!

Housing & Homelessness— Achieve policies and funding necessary to address the homelessness crisis and assure an adequate supply of affordable housing for middle-to-low income people.
Cynthia Stewart, stewdahl@comcast.net
Issue Paper

Healthcare, Behavioral Health, & Reproductive Rights— Ensure access for all residents to comprehensive, uniform and affordable physical and behavioral health care and reproductive services.
action@lwvwa.org

Gun Safety— Limit accessibility of firearms, including assault-style weapons and high capacity clips. Enact safe storage requirements for guns.
Pat Griffith, pgriffith@lwvwa.org, (206) 285-2452
Issue Paper

EDUCATION 
Ensure the state continues fully funding education. Support student health and safety legislation.
Catherine Ahl, cathahl@hotmail.com, (360) 697-7924

Issue Paper: General Education
Issue Paper: Charter Schools

CLIMATE CHANGE, ENERGY, & NATURAL RESOURCES

Climate Change— Reduce greenhouse gas emissions, put a price on carbon, and enact measures to promote climate resiliency.
Phyllis Farrell, phyllisfarrell681@hotmail.com, (360) 789-8307
Issue Paper

Energy— Protect the Washington Energy Independence Act, increase renewable power use and promote energy conservation in building and lifestyle practices
Elyette Weinstein, eweinstein@lwvwa.org, (360) 791-5840
Issue Paper

Forests & Rivers— Protect our forests from destructive wildfires and logging practices. Protect our northwest public lands and rivers systems.
Raelene Gold, rgold@lwvwa.org, (206) 303-7218
Issue Paper

Shorelines, Wetlands, & Land Use— Protect our Shoreline Management, Growth Management & State Environmental Policy Acts from efforts to weaken them.
Karen Luetjen, kluetjen@lwvwa.org
Issue Paper

Transportation— Achieve a balanced transportation system that is integrated, adequate and effective, prioritizes maintenance and emphasizes emissions reduction and traffic reduction strategies such as public transportation.
Cynthia Stewart, stewdahl@comcast.net
Issue Paper

Water— Continue improving the state and local governmental programs empowered to protect the quality and quantity of our water including municipal water, groundwater, and in-stream flows.
Martin Gibbins, mgibbins@lwvwa.org, (425) 361-5007
Issue Paper

FAIR & ADEQUATE REVENUE
Adopt fair revenue policies to adequately fund services and functions critical to the well-being of the people of our state.
Nora Leech, lwvseattlenora@lwvwa.org, (206) 319-6210

Issue Paper


CONTRACT LOBBYISTS
Nancy Sapiro: nsapiro [at] nwjustice.net  |  206-909-7454
Pam Crone: pamcrone [at] gmail.com  |  206-650-0020


LWVWA ISSUES
Please click on an issue to see the legislation we are following and find instructions on how to take action on these critical issues.

DEMOCRACY
Elections, Campaign Finance, & Government Ethics | Election Methods | Election Security | Census & Redistricting

SOCIAL POLICIES
Economic & Social Justice | Criminal Justice | Housing & Homelessness | Healthcare, Behavioral Health, & Reproductive Rights | Gun Safety

EDUCATION

CLIMATE CHANGE, ENERGY, & NATURAL RESOURCES
Climate Change | Energy | Forests & Rivers | Shorelines, Wetlands, & Land Use | Transportation | Water

FAIR & ADEQUATE REVENUE



The League of Women Voters of Washington is a 501(c)(4) non-profit organization.
The League of Women Voters of Washington Education Fund is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. LWVWA Education Fund contributions are tax-deductible to the extent allowable by law. The League of Women Voters Education Fund does not endorse the contents of any web pages to which it links.

League of Women Voters of the United States

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software