LWVWA ISSUES

Please click on an issue to see the legislation we are following and find instructions on how to take action on these critical issues.

 >> LOBBY TEAM CHAIRS    >> CONTRACT LOBBYISTS

DEMOCRACY

ELECTIONS   VOTING RIGHTS  CAMPAIGN FINANCE

SOCIAL POLICIES

ECONOMIC & SOCIAL JUSTICE      HEALTH CARE & BEHAVIORAL HEALTH      REPRODUCTIVE RIGHTS     GUN SAFETY

EDUCATION

FULLY FUND EDUCATION

CLIMATE, ENERGY & NATURAL RESOURCES
          CLIMATE CHANGE    ENERGY FORESTS & RIVERS  SHORELINES, WETLANDS & LAND USE   WATER TRANSPORTATION
REVENUE
          FAIR & ADEQUATE REVENUE


2018 LEGISLATIVE PRIORITIES


DEMOCRACY

ELECTIONS, VOTING RIGHTS & CAMPAIGN FINANCE

Expand opportunities to vote, promote more representative election systems, enable greater civic involvement, empower disenfranchised communities, reduce the influence of special interest money and increase transparency in politics.
Kathy Sakahara ksakahara [at] lwvwa.org 206-261-7797

SOCIAL POLICIES

ECONOMIC & SOCIAL JUSTICE

Ensure equality of opportunity, prevent and reduce poverty and promote fair policies for all struggling to realize their human potential.

Amy Davis adavis [at] lwvwa.org 360-427-1956

HEALTH CARE & BEHAVIORAL HEALTH & REPRODUCTIVE RIGHTS

Ensure access for all residents to comprehensive, uniform and affordable physical and behavioral health care and reproductive services.

Susan Eidenschink susaneiden [at] harbornet.com 253-365-4005

Jo Rodman rodmanjo45 [at] gmail.com 253-358-3622

GUN SAFETY

Limit accessibility of firearms, including assault-style weapons and high capacity clips. Enact safe storage requirements for guns.

Pat Griffith pgriffith [at] lwvwa.org 206-285-2452

EDUCATION

FULLY FUND EDUCATION

Ensure the state follows through with its promise of fully funding education. Promote professional development for civics teachers.

Catherine Ahl – cathahl {at] hotmail.com – 360-697-7924

 

OTHER IMPORTANT ISSUES

CLIMATE, ENERGY & NATURAL RESOURCES  

CLIMATE CHANGE

Reduce greenhouse gas emissions, put a price on carbon, and enact measures to promote climate resilience.

Phyllis Farrell phyllisfarrell681 [at] hotmail.com 360-789-8307

ENERGY

Protect the Energy Independence Act, increase renewable power use and promote energy conservation in building and lifestyle practices.

Elyette Weinstein eweinstein [at] lwvwa.org 360-791-5840

Mary Moore mymtrain [at] comcast.net 360-972-6714

FORESTS & RIVERS 

Protect our forests from destructive wildfires and logging practices. Protect our northwest public lands and rivers systems.

Raelene Gold rgold [at] lwvwa.org 206-303-7218

SHORELINES, WETLANDS & LAND USE

Protect our Shoreline Management, Growth Management & State Environmental Policy Acts from efforts to weaken them.                                 

Ann Aagaard aaagaard [at] lwvwa.org 425-488-8418

WATER

Support the state and local governmental programs empowered to protect our water quantity and quality, groundwater and in stream flows.

Martin Gibbins aquilaapogee [at] gmail.com 425-361-5007

 

TRANSPORTATION

TRANSPORTATION

Promote affordable and reliable high capacity transportation. Steadily reduce transportation greenhouse gas emissions.

Elyette Weinstein eweinstein [at] lwvwa.org 360-791-5840

FAIR & ADEQUATE REVENUE

REVENUE

Adopt fair revenue policies to adequately fund services and functions critical to the well-being of the people of our state.

Nora Leech lwvseattlenora [at] lwvwa.org  206-319-6210



CONTRACT LOBBYISTS

 Nancy Sapiro -  nsapiro [at] nwjustice.net - 206-909-7454

 Pam Crone - pamcrone [at] gmail.com - 206-650-0020

 

 




The League of Women Voters of Washington is a 501(c)(4) non-profit organization.
The League of Women Voters of Washington Education Fund is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. LWVWA Education Fund contributions are tax-deductible to the extent allowable by law. The League of Women Voters Education Fund does not endorse the contents of any web pages to which it links.

League of Women Voters of the United States

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software